I’m writing a book

Power of Words

How did people write entire novels without a delete button? I’ll never know. Image: InverseHypercube

I’m writing a book.

It’s a project I’ve been working on since late November last year. Like all projects, it started with an idea. I noted the idea down and went back to it later, fleshing it out into more of a story. After a (short and inadequate) planning session, I sat down and wrote the beginning of chapter one.

Since then I’ve been writing here and there at odd hours of the day: at my desk, in cafes, on trains and even in the rather glamorous Magdalena Hotel in Tobago, facing the Atlantic Ocean with a glass of Coke. (If you’re feeling jealous, I edited most of that chapter so I doubt much – or even any – of what I wrote then will appear in the final draft).

IMG_0467

If only I could write with this view every morning…

What’s it about?

It’s about a young man named Dan Wallace, who is working on Dust, an app that enables secure communication. He and his colleagues are under pressure: money is tight and competition is fierce. As the political situation within the group and outside deteriorates, can Dan carve out a future for their creation?

You’ve been keeping this quiet…

With hindsight, I probably should have written this post a bit sooner. After all, I am hoping at least one person besides me will read my book, and you can’t read something that you don’t know exists.

So why didn’t I write this post until now? Three reasons:

1. I thought I might not finish it

2. I thought it might be rubbish

3. I’m not very good at self-promotion

Consider this the beginning of my therapy for #3. #2 is still a possibility, but I’m about three-quarters of the way through now, so I’m pretty confident I will finish it. It’s time, past time, to let you know what’s going on. I still have a lot to do. I have roughly 10,000 words left to write, possibly more. After hitting return for the final time, there will be editing, designing a cover and the publishing process to get through. You won’t be seeing it just yet.

I’m going to be writing a few more thoughts about what I’ve learned through this process. I hope they will provide a bit of an insight into what it’s like to write a book and perhaps some useful advice for anyone thinking of doing it themselves.

So watch this space, and if you have anything you’d like to ask or tell me, please get in touch via email, Twitter or in the comments.

Leave a Reply

